Home > News > X International Harambee Award for Audiovisuals “Conveying Africa”
W3C Home

Let’s illuminate Africa with Stories of Hope and Change. Africa is a land of beauty, but it is also a continent filled with challenges. It is a place that draws, inspires, and surprises, yet it often remains shrouded in the shadows of stereotypes and prejudices. That is why the Harambee Africa International Foundation is pleased to announce the launch of the X International “Communicating Africa” Award, an extraordinary opportunity to bring different aspects of the African continent to the forefront.

The award is a call to share stories that show us where Africa is heading, highlighting not only the challenges but also the opportunities and ongoing progress. This award does not aim to present a naive or simplistic view of Africa but rather to celebrate its diversity, the strength of its communities, and the ongoing commitment to sustainable development.

Award Categories and Themes

The X International “Communicating Africa” Award welcomes a wide range of audiovisual productions, divided into four distinct categories:

  1. Professional audiovisuals by individuals  with a maximum duration of 60 minutes.
  2. Professional audiovisuals by non-profit organizations with a maximum duration of 60 minutes.
  3. Professional audiovisuals by commercial entities with a maximum duration of 60 minutes.
  4. Audiovisuals by young creatives under 25 years of age  with a maximum duration of 5 minutes. In this category, direct experience in Africa is not required; what matters are stories that explore themes related to personal growth, coexistence, and integration.

Priority themes to be considered include the value of education and training as essential means to achieve the full promotion of the individual and the peaceful development of African society, respect for the dignity of the human person regardless of social, economic, or cultural condition, the value of solidarity and mutual assistance, the fundamental role of the family in individual growth and the development of society, and positive experiences of integration in European societies, promoting intercultural understanding and harmonious coexistence.

How to Participate

Participation in the competition is open to all those who wish to share their perspective on Africa through the language of audiovisual media. Audiovisuals can be in the original language, but in the case of languages other than English, French, Italian, and Spanish, subtitles must be included.

To enter the competition, simply complete the online registration form by visiting the platform:

The deadline for submitting works is June 30, 2024.

Awards and Recognition

A jury of experts in the field will evaluate the works submitted and select the winners in each category. The winners will be awarded during a special event, the date and location of which will be announced on the official website (www.harambee-africa.org).

Prizes include a monetary award of EUR 1000 for each of categories a), b), c), and a total of 500 euros for young audiovisuals in category d). This is a unique opportunity to receive recognition for your work and contribute to spreading a more authentic view of Africa.

Copyright and Impact

Participants retain the copyright of their works but grant the competition the right to screen and promote the selected videos for non-commercial purposes, ensuring that the works are their own and do not infringe on the rights of third parties. This is a way to share stories that can inspire and raise awareness among the public on important issues.

Participating in the X International “Communicating Africa” Award is a unique opportunity to make your voice heard and contribute to changing the narrative about Africa!

For further information and to enter the competition, please visit the official website: http://www.harambeeafricaward.org/en/home